taxidermia

by Feng

I felt high when I saw this movie. It probably didn’t help that it was midnight when I saw it and I was already tired, but I couldn’t stop watching it. It was too sensational. A literally visceral experience. I guess I’d call it a movie about body-misery and surrealism, both things I like to explore in my writing. Not only a movie about vice, it is a movie about bodily boundaries, the fear of inside, and turning the body inside out. There are lots of visually horrible scenes, but they are thoughtful.  Beneath the horror and pitch black humor,  philosophical implications, at least for me, balance out the disgust and make it bearable, even wonderful, to watch. The word “mount” and all its different connotations are at play. The main characters in the film wish to transcend the body, transcend lust… and they do, to varying degrees and levels of grotesqueness. The three sections each explore one variation. Sexual mounting, the transformation of the body into mountain, mounting the stuffed body. In the end, during my favorite and what I think is a beautiful scene, taxidermist Lajos stuffs himself with the help of an intricate machine which finishes by cutting his head off. His preserved body is mounted and becomes a work of art in a museum.  The film itself mounts the distortion and sickness of the body on the pedestal of art. I need to see it again. Maybe I won’t be as tolerant the next time around… But sometimes I think that if it were not for art, I would be a mortician or a surgeon. I am morbidly fascinated with the body.

_________________

Source of image here.

_________________

see taxidermia on rottentomatoes

