new year happy piggy

by Feng

I am in this week’s Abjective.

I had a dream last night which was populated by pigs with huge, flat faces. Like, an entire head was what is normally their snout. So these pigs with giant flat faces were sitting on a truck and the scene was saturated with bright colors. The sky was blue. The pigs had blank expressions and their faces were like pale pasta or ham. The dream was very textural and there was a giant octopus. I think I was seeing “True Grit” in my dream and the giant octopus was what killed the girl’s father, and she had to kill the octopus which of course had terrible suckers. I was very repulsed by the suckers on the tentacles. It was really horrifying. There were lots of other very nonsensical components to the dream(s). Much of it was game-like, as in, there were absurd rules I was breaking and this created more points to the plot.

I guess that was my synthesizing the events of yesterday. Yesterday I thought about bacon, evil, and learned how to play Settlers of Catan, which was okay. I didn’t like it as much as I expected, but the company I played with was awesomely entertaining. Maybe that’s the real incentive of playing other than the thrill of losing/winning. I was disappointed that the game did not include all the factors of colonialism, such as blood, disease, and slavery. Mostly it comprised of wheat, stone, brick, and sheep, and commerce.

As for bacon, I was wondering about the humanity of pigs.  Pigs can be endearing and sweet, and they are not as disgusting as we make them out to be. Mostly we have projected our own piggishness onto pigs. They have become the symbol of human greed and shittiness. Also, pigs do not have sweat glands. We do not sweat like pigs. Pigs do not sweat. We sweat like ourselves. We suck and pigs do not. Bacon tastes really good, but I am now wondering about the ethical texture of eating bacon.

Apparently, some scientist thinks that pigs are as smart as or smarter than chimps. I would not eat a chimp.

The studies also showed:

  • Pigs lead complex social lives that behaviorists once believed to be true only of primates.
  • Mother pigs sing to their piglets while they are nursing.
  • They excel at video games that would be hard for a young child, and sometimes better than the primates.
  • Pigs dream.
  • Pigs have a good sense of direction, and can find their way home from long distances.
  • They learn from watching one another.
  • Pigs outsmart each other. One will often follow another pig to food before grabbing it away from him, and the pig who was tricked will change behaviors to reduce how many times it is tricked.

Read more at Suite101: The Intelligent Pig: The Smartest Domestic Animal in The World http://www.suite101.com/content/the-intelligent-pig-a84448#ixzz1Af4PMW5x

So I’ve been eating toddlers all this time? Sad toddlers? I think I knew that. But “conveniently” forgot about it after a few years in college because bacon is cheap and delicious. Not that I eat bacon that much. I don’t buy meat anymore, but sometimes my mommy buys meat and gives it to me. No thanks, mom. No more factory bacon/meat for me.

Which brings me to another thing I am thinking about. My dumb little bubble. I am so removed from the world that I didn’t know that pigs do not sweat. Everything I own or use comes from somewhere far away that I have never been and will never understand. I don’t know how a computer works. I’m using one. I don’t know much suffering but I am “aware” of it supposedly being everywhere and in everything. The news is not exciting. I don’t know what reality is, but I can’t say that without irony because that is how we deal with it, maybe? I AM SO FEEBLE AND LAME. Pictures. Pictures. The pursuit of happiness. It’s scary when nothing makes sense.

I think about how important communication/connection is. Making sense.

I read this and felt happier.

